Break in Budapest

To soften the blow of coming home from a summery Australia to the frozen tundra of Northern Europe I went for a week to Budapest with the class for a week of photography. The winter has been long and hard in Europe, but there were sure fire signs of spring in Budapest: trees in bloom, crowded street side cafés, sunshine (mostly) and no need for more than a light jacket. 

We went out for night photography one evening. I had chosen to leave my tripod at home since I wanted to travel light. I tried to use ‘natural’ supports and got one or two shots this way.

View over the Chain Bridge and Buda castle from the Pest side of Danube

View over the Chain Bridge and Buda castle from the Pest side of Danube

Without the tripod it was pretty boring to follow my class mates. So I started to experiment a bit. Or was it just too much coffee?

The Chain Bridge over Danube

The Chain Bridge over Danube

I liked the result and continued with long exposures and a bit of camera movements (or was it the coffees I had drunk? Hopefully it was not the absence of an evening beer or two)

The Chain Bridge

The Chain Bridge

The Chain Bridge and Buda castle

The Chain Bridge and Buda castle

 

 

Leave a Reply

